Tags

, , , , ,

“Desde que tengo uso de razon,” I’ve dreamt about going to Madrid, well to be exact since I was 15 years old. Surely, I was lucky enough to be able to go during my favorite holiday of all time and celebrate 2012 New Year’s Eve or “Nochevieja.” After spending almost 2 weeks in Austria for my Christmas break, the second half of my journey began. I spent almost 14 hours on airplanes and airports from Austria-Cologne-Barcelona- and finally Madrid…and when I arrived I couldn’t be happier  to begin another adventure, which turned out to be a visceral experience.

Despite my long journey, my highly anticipated visit to Spain’s capital and largest city was everything and more I had in mind.  I was really looking forward to wander around the metropolitan streets and stopping by the local markets, restaurants and bars, to get a feel of the people, culture and food; subsequently I felt right at home. This metropolitan city brought back memories close to my heart, my home Mexico City.

Here are some of the places that stood out to me the most…(in no particular order)

La Catedral de La Almudena, el Parque del Retiro, rounding the majestic Puerta de Alcala, stopping by the fountain-centered Plaza de Cibeles,  Palacio Real, The Bernabeu Stadium and all the other century old buildings. I love how every corner you turn brings a new sight to behold.  El Museo del Jamon is one of the million places where traditional tapas are served and I had to have the most popular- the bocadillo de jamon Serrano (cured ham) with a cold beer, a delicious edible tradition.

